Thursday, 23 November 2017

The big clock in the sky

I had to be in town early this morning, so I took my obligatory 2nd coffee of the day at the train station. No moon, just a big clock.

Wednesday, 22 November 2017

Monday, 20 November 2017

Sunday, 19 November 2017

Christmas tree, episode 3

Right. Every year, in time for the opening of the Christmas market, the city puts up the tallest possible pine tree on place Kleber, aka the main square.
Well, it started well. They found a tall one, 36 meters, in the mountains nearby. They cut it, and... it broke into 3 pîeces.
One week later, they cut another one. This one made it to the city, and was put up. The city workers were decorating it, when... they noticed a large crack.
So, this is number 3...  Let's touch wood.
The Christkindlsmaerik, or christmas market, opens next weekend.  I'll keep you posted.

Saturday, 18 November 2017

Thursday, 16 November 2017

Post 500

I lived in front of Parc Monceau in Paris for a few years, and it still is as beautiful as 34 years ago

Monday, 13 November 2017

Sunday, 12 November 2017

A weekend reflection

Rain, more rain, hail, Noah's flood parts 2 and 3, and a little sunshine in between...
More weekend reflections here.

Saturday, 11 November 2017

Now, you wait a minute, mister!

This ain't no Strasbourg! You're cheating!
Yo dude, weekend away, in grey (not gay) Paris. Chill.

Thursday, 9 November 2017

Wherever I go...

These boots are made for walking! Perfect shoes for travelers, not just for aussies!

Monday, 6 November 2017

A monday mural

Victor Hugo, one of France's greatest novelists and poets.
"Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face".
More Monday Murals here.

Sunday, 5 November 2017

Friday, 3 November 2017

Thursday, 2 November 2017

Socks, drugs and rock'n roll

After looking for 3 weeks for an appropriate post for yesterday's theme day, a few hours after posting, I came accross this yesterday...

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

Wine, knack(wurst) and rock'n roll!

November City Daily Photographer theme day: rock'n roll. A hard one... To tell you the truth, Strasbourg is not a rock'n roll kind of place. Well, except for one place, the very excellent Bretzel Airlines. What could be more alsatian than a bretzel??? Well, don't answer this one.... Choucroute (aka sauerkraut), wines, and on, I know, guys...
To see more rock'n roll photos, click here.

Tuesday, 31 October 2017

The tree is up!

Every year around this time, the city puts up the tallest christmas tree they find, on place Kleber, our main square. This year, it didn't go as planned... They found a 36 meters tall tree, but it broke when they cut it down. This is plan B, only 30 meters tall, 100 feet. The christmas market opens on the last weekend in november, time for the city workers to make the tree christmassy, by attaching more branches (right now, the tree is...meager), and to decorate it.

Monday, 30 October 2017

Saint Jean

St John church was a former monastery church. Built in 1477, and heavily damages during WW2, it is now home to a monastic fraternity (whatever this means. I saw a nun unlocking the door this morning). I love the simplicity of it!
A close-up of the lion above the entrance:

Sunday, 29 October 2017

Saturday, 28 October 2017

Reformation

The town is very busy this weekend, lots of protestants from all over France, Germany, Switzerland, celebrating 500 years since Father Martin Luther, catholic priest, augustinian monk, father of 6 with Katharina von Bora, a nun, absconded his "true" faith, to embrace another "true" faith (...).
Now, the region here, Alsace, is predominantly protestant. A few catholics, jews, muslims, others...And our neighbors, Switzerland and Germany are very protestant as well. Followers of a guy who wrote a treatise about jews, Von den Jüden und iren Lügen, "about jews and their lies".  In the treatise, he argues that Jewish synagogues and schools be set on fire, their prayer  books destroyed, rabbis forbidden to preach, homes burned, and property and money confiscated. They should be shown no mercy or kindness, afforded no legal protection, and these poisonous envenomed worms should be drafted into forced labor or expelled for all time. He also seems to advocate their murder, writing "we are at fault in not slaying them". 
What a nice example to follow.
You know the rest: suffering, death, racism, narrow mindedness, hate, intolerance, bigotry, Trump...

Evangelicals are boycotting the celebrations. I wonder why.

Friday, 27 October 2017

Buddha in Paris?

Not really, seen in the window of a souvenir shop near the cathedral in Strasbourg 500 km from Paris.
More black and white photos here.

Thursday, 26 October 2017

For rêveurs!

   Rêveurs= dreamers. Moustaches are for dreamers, forever. Or so it says here. I am more of a beard guy myself, but whatever tickles your fancy...

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

He ho, and a bottle of rum!

Strange things seen in windows, in this case a new rum/pirate bar, Barberousse.Oh well, I guess it's that time of the year. I'll drink to that!
Waiting for Captain Jack Sparrow to buy me a drink!

Tuesday, 24 October 2017

Monday, 23 October 2017

A monday mural

I'm no longer accepting the things I cannot change...I'm changing the things I cannot accept.
Angela Davis

More Monday Murals here
Mural by Dan23.

Friday, 20 October 2017

Thursday, 19 October 2017

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

Vox box office

Vox seems to be a common name for older cinemas. This one was built in the 30es, renovated in 2015. 6 screens, with the latest technology.
On today: Blade Runner 2049, the latest Kingsman movie, the Lego movie, Coexist (french), Mozart's Enchanted Flute, It...

Monday, 16 October 2017

Sunday, 15 October 2017

The bubble guy

I read somewhere that he is a syrian refugee, trying to build a new life. May the force be with him!

Saturday, 14 October 2017

Imagine that!

Wow! A kid without cell phone, Iphone, or other pads! A kid with a BOOK!!! Amazing.There is hope, my friends!

Monday, 9 October 2017

Al cinema

Last summer, I was very happy to be able to spend 24 hours in the italian city of Genova. And I fell in love with, again. Vibrant, multicultural seaside port.

Sunday, 8 October 2017

Bring the chevy to the...

... vintage fair I went to yesterday! A feast for my eyes, this 65 Malibu!
Many other wondrous and/or wonderful things and people to be seen.