Tuesday, 16 May 2017

More water, Niki!

Welcome back to Paname, Paris! Not wanting to make yet another postcard picture of the Niki de Saint Phalle fountain, (specially as there was no water), I played a bit around. Hope you'll like it.

Monday, 15 May 2017

Yet another Aussie in town ;-)

We have a few kingfishers in the area, but this is most probably the only kookabura  in town. He might be from Mooloolaba, who knows?

Friday, 12 May 2017

Sunday, 7 May 2017

Early morning

At the central train station, built by the german occupier in 1883. There is coffee there! :-)

Thursday, 4 May 2017

Insomnia

So last night I couldn't sleep, for some reason unknown to me. Well, I decided to take the first bus to town (5.20AM), had a coffee at the train station, went for a walk. This is the Petite France, just before 6 AM. So peaceful and quiet.
Tired now.

Monday, 1 May 2017

Let's eat! Theme day!

Yeah babies, it's the monthly theme day of the daily photographers! So, let's eat!
Willem, Rio and Sophia having a hearty breakfast.
Don't forget to check other entries to this theme!
Where???
Well, doh: here of course!

Sunday, 30 April 2017

He has pig!

Aka "der hat Schwein", colloquial german for: lucky guy! Today, in our neighbour german city of Kehl, now only 19 minutes from Strasbourg city center thanks to the new international/binational tramway.

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Yesterday for tomorrow

Yep, still not Strasbourg. Hier pour demain, shop specialising in vintage items, from the 30es to the 60es.

Sunday, 23 April 2017

Paris reflections in black and white

Ok, this not Strasbourg! I spent a few days in Paris, needed to get out, again. So, you know the drill: more reflections here, and more b&w here. Click, click! Simple, no?

Tuesday, 11 April 2017

Sunday, 9 April 2017

Saturday, 8 April 2017

Abdullah Öcalan

A group of people has been camping in front of the Council of Europe in hope of freeing their leader (quote). More about it here.
Now turkish people, friends, this is in no way propaganda!!! I'm just taking photos about Strasbourg, that's all. No need to put me in jail, or something! This is about photography and about Strasbourg, not politics

Friday, 7 April 2017

Thursday, 6 April 2017

Le troquet des kneckes

Nice restaurant in the city center, with some rather special wall mountings. Troquet des kneckes means the boy's pub, in a mix of french and southern alsatian dialect. Yeah, down there in Mulhouse, they have kneckes. Here we have buwe.

Saturday, 1 April 2017

Wet and easy

Theme day again for us city daily photographers, different theme every 1st of each month.
Well, this couldn't have been easier! The theme is; WET. So, behold the wetness of an italian beach earlier this week! Wet indeed, and far too cold to venture further in, despite of the almost summery air temperature!
Dont forget to click right   here   to enjoy more wetness!

Sorry about the quality, phone pic.

Friday, 31 March 2017

Strasbourg, by night

Not living in the centre of town, I rarely go there at night. This week is the exception. I even crossed the whole town last night, at 2 AM! Those who know me will say: no way, Jose! Yes way! No busses, trams or taxis, what can you do... It was a very nice and enjoyable walk.

Thursday, 30 March 2017

3 hours away...

... or the not quite easy task of shooting landscape out of a speeding bus. The Gran Sasso area in the wonderful swiss alps,

Tuesday, 28 March 2017

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

Au Crocodile

One of the better restaurants in town, popular among MEPs (members of the European Parliament). Not my price range.
The name comes from a stuffed croc, brought from Egypt by a general during the Napoleonic wars. The beastie still hangs above the entrance.

Sunday, 5 March 2017

Old stuff

Well, it is relative... Barely 3-400 years old, almost brand new, actually!

Wednesday, 1 March 2017

Black and white in color

Some disheveled trees in the city center, being winter and all...
Theme for today is b&w in color. Click here to see more of it!

Monday, 27 February 2017

Not quite black and white...

Preparing myself mentally for the "not quite b&w, but" theme day on wednesday... LOL

Tuesday, 21 February 2017

Americana

A bit of the US of A in town... A famous (infamous?) burger joint, with a scottish sounding name.

Monday, 20 February 2017

Segway riders

Well, if you are in a hurry, or just lazy, that's one way for going around. Guided tours are organized several times a day. Good balance needed!

Sunday, 19 February 2017

Madame Giraffe

Spotted in a shop window, somewhere along the Grand Rue.
Btw, Madame loses a F in french, girafe.

Sunday, 12 February 2017

Skywatch... sunday

Well, slightly late for Skywatch Friday... Never mind. You can still click here to see more!

Monday, 6 February 2017

The olde pharmacy, aka post 365

I am still very busy, even on weekends, so no time for photos or blogging. I will be back more regularly at the end of march, hopefully.

Monday, 23 January 2017

Thursday, 19 January 2017

Warming up

Very little time to take photos at the moment, so there is one taken a few months ago.

Tuesday, 17 January 2017

Waking up...

Waking up to a beautiful winter sky, waking up to "Moscow-Paris" the aptly named cold front du jour. -13 degrees C wind chill right now, or 8.6 F. Our usually warm Korsika island is in the grips of a huge snowstorm.
Photo taken from my (open) kitchen window.

Tuesday, 10 January 2017

City lights and the moon

It finally stopped snowing, after 24 hours non stop. One more week of it, or so they say... Nice!!!

Saturday, 7 January 2017

Museum of modern and contemporary art

Took this photo last summer, and... I forgot the title of this piece. And I couldn't find it on the net either. But, oh boy, I love it!